### Joint statement

# on the need to prosecute Russia's international crimes in Ukraine

As Chairs of Foreign Affairs Committees of our respective Parliaments, in response to the continued — unprovoked and unjust — war of aggression waged against Ukraine by the Russian Federation, we:

remind that the Russian Federation continues to grossly and blatantly violate international laws and obligations, including all principles of the UN Charter, through its aggressive war against Ukraine, its sovereignty, independence and territorial integrity;

*note* that the planning, preparation, initiation or implementation of a war of aggression infringing international agreements, treaties, or guarantees constitute a crime against peace;

*underline* that the crimes committed so far by the armed forces of the Russian Federation in Ukraine demonstrate cynicism and impunity, and a disregard for war regulations and laws that limit the use of military force;

*condemn* the Russian Federation's war of aggression against Ukraine and do not recognise the annexation of the captured territories;

*strongly support* the investigation launched by the International Criminal Court to identify and prosecute those who have committed war crimes and crimes against humanity on Ukrainian territory;

*advocate* the establishment of a dedicated international tribunal for bringing to justice the perpetrators of the international crime of aggression initiated by the Russian Federation on 24 February 2022 with a full-scale military invasion of the territory of sovereign Ukraine, by setting up an appropriate legal basis for this purpose, in addition to the International Criminal Court which cannot exercise jurisdiction over this aggression; and

express our solidarity with Ukraine and its people, encouraging all partners to demonstrate support in any possible way, including by visits to Ukraine.

Andres Sutt Chair, Foreign Affairs

Committee
Estonia

**Els Van Hoof** 

Chair, External Relations committee Belgium

Rihards Kols

Chair, Foreign Affairs Committee Latvia

Ekaterina Zaharieva

Chair, Committee on Foreign Policy Bulgaria Žygimantas Pavilionis

Chair, Foreign Affairs Committee Lithuania

Gari Capelli

Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee Croatia

## Marek Ženišek

Chair, Chamber of Deputies Foreign Affairs Committee Czech Republic

#### Jussi Halla-aho

Chair, Foreign Affairs Committee Finland

#### **Rudmer Heerema**

Chair, House of Representative Foreign Affairs Committee Netherlands

## **Bogdan Klich**

Chair, Senate Foreign and European Union Affairs Committee Poland

### **Aron Emilsson**

Chair, Foreign Affairs Committee Sweden

### **David McAllister**

Chair, Committee on Foreign Affairs European Parliament

#### **Pavel Fischer**

Chair, Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defense and Security Czech Republic

#### Michael Roth

Chair, Committee on Foreign Affairs Germany

#### Ine Eriksen Soreide

Chair, Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence Norway

### Predrag Bakovič

Chair of the National Assembly Foreign Policy Committee Slovenia

#### Oleksandr Merezhko

Chair, Committee on Foreign Policy Ukraine

### **Michael Aastrup Jensen**

Chair, Foreign Policy Committee Denmark

## Charlie Flanagan

Chair, Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence Ireland

## **Radoslaw Fogiel**

Chair, Sejm Foreign Affairs Committee Poland

### Pau Mari-Klose

Chair, Chamber of Deputies Foreign Affairs Committee Spain

#### Alicia Kearns

Chair, Foreign Affairs Committee, United Kingdom