

THE SECRETARY GENERAL LA SECRÉTAIRE GÉNÉRALE

165 CIR 22 E

19 September, 2022

TO SECRETARIES OF MEMBER DELEGATIONS FOR DISTRIBUTION TO ALL MEMBERS

Re: Selection for the 2022 NATO PA Women for Peace and Security Award

Dear members,

As you know, the Standing Committee decided last year to create a "Women for Peace and Security" Award to honour a woman who has made a particular contribution to the equal participation of women and men in the field of peace and security, the protection of women in conflict situations and/or the mainstreaming of women's needs and perspectives into relief and recovery initiatives in post-conflict countries.

The Selection Committee, composed of the Bureau members of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly and the Special Representative of the NATO Secretary General for Women, Peace and Security, voted on Tuesday 13 September.

I am pleased to inform you that the Committee has bestowed the 2022 award to Ms Olha Stefanishyna, Deputy Prime Minister for European and Euro-Atlantic Integration of Ukraine. Ms Stefanishyna was nominated by Audronius Azubalis, Head of the Lithuanian delegation to the NATO PA.

We have all witnessed her tireless efforts in support of Ukraine's European and Euro-Atlantic integration, her remarkable courage in mobilising international support for Ukraine's resistance to Russia's unprovoked, unjustified and brutal war, her consistent and much valued engagement with the NATO PA as well as her leading role in shaping and promoting Ukraine's gender equality policy.

Beside Ms Stefanishyna, we received five excellent nominations from the Heads of the following delegations:

- Bulgaria: First Lieutenant Dr Adriana Kamburova, Commander of the Bulgarian contingent of military medics part of the EU Training Mission in Mali, Bulgarian Army
- Germany: Ms Helga Schmid, Secretary General of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE)
- Iceland: Ms Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya, Ms Maria Kalesnikava and Ms Veronica Tsepkalo, Belarusian political activists (joint nomination)
- Spain: **H.E. Ms. Maria Teresa Fernandez de la Vega**, President of the Spanish Council of State and Founder and President of the Women for Africa Foundation

INTERNATIONAL SECRETARIAT · SECRÉTARIAT INTERNATIONAL Place du Petit Sablon 3
B-1000 Brussels
T. +32 2 504 81 55
E coccon@nate pa int

E. secgen@nato-pa.int www.nato-pa.int



 United Kingdom: Ms Nusrat Ghani, Minister of State in the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy as well as former member of the UK delegation to the NATO PA

We are grateful to all the delegations who have submitted nominations for their participation and the quality of the submissions, which we are certain will remain high for the next editions. We are also grateful to NATO Special Representative for Women, Peace and Security for her support.

Ms Stefanishyna has been informed and is grateful to the Assembly.

I know Assembly members will welcome this opportunity to recognise Ms Stefanishyna's exceptional contribution with this award.

Yours sincerely,

Ruxandra POPA Secretary General