

Joint statement on the need for further sanctions against Russia for its war of aggression against Ukraine

As Chairs of Foreign Affairs Committees of our respective Parliaments, in response to the continued — unprovoked and unjust — war of aggression waged against Ukraine by the Russian Federation, we:

note the Russian war of aggression against Ukraine, a sovereign country, is a gross violation of international law, including the UN Charter;

emphasise that since Russia's unprovoked military attack on Ukraine on February 24, 2022, twelve million Ukrainians have been forced to flee their homes and over five million have been forced to flee their country;

refer to several reports by human rights groups and international monitoring missions about atrocities committed by the Russian armed forces against Ukrainian civilians, including torture, rape, murder and mass detention of civilians in so-called filtration centres, as well as mass deportations;

underline the immoral and illegal nature of the tactics chosen by Russia, the widespread use of especially cruel, imprecise weapons that maim and cause special suffering - Russia, by using this type of ammunition, violates international norms. Russian forces in Ukraine are using internationally banned cluster munitions to sow fear and indiscriminately kill civilians;

stress that the deployment of Russian military personnel and weaponry at the Zaporizhzhya Nuclear Power Plant - Europe's largest nuclear power plant — is unacceptable and disregards the safety, security, and safeguards principles outlined in the Seven Pillars of Nuclear Safety and Security;

note that the presence of Russian military forces at the Zaporizhzhya Nuclear Power Plant prevents the operator and the Ukrainian authorities from fulfilling their nuclear and radiation safety obligations per international conventions,

urge the Russian Federation to immediately withdraw its military forces and all other unauthorised personnel from the Zaporizhzhya Nuclear Power Plant, its immediate surroundings, and all of Ukraine;

reiterate our strongest condemnation of the ongoing unprovoked and unjustifiable war of aggression of the Russian Federation against Ukraine. The Russian Federation must immediately withdraw its troops from within Ukraine's internationally recognised borders and respect Ukraine's territory and sovereignty.

call on the Euro-Atlantic community and its partners to urgently strengthen and implement comprehensive sanctions against the Russian Federation to stop the ability of the Russian army to continue its military aggression in Ukraine, to increase military, financial, humanitarian and diplomatic support to Ukraine, to unanimously support initiatives that condemn Russia's military actions in Ukraine and calls bring the perpetrators to justice, isolate Russia from international and regional organisations, as



well as adopt equivalent decisions and establish equivalent sanctions against Belarus as a supporter of Russian military aggression;

call on Member States of the European Union and other western allies to immediately suspend tourism and limit the issuance of entry visas for tourism of citizens of the Russian Federation

commemorates all the victims of Russian aggression in Ukraine – thousands of civilians and defenders of Ukraine;

express solidarity with Ukraine and the Ukrainian people.

Marko Mihkelson, Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Riigikogu Estonia

Rihards Kols, Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Saeima Latvia

Laima Liucija Andrikienė, Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Seimas Lithuania

Marek Zenisek, Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Chamber of Deputies Czech Republic

Marek Kuchcinski Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Sejm Poland Bogdan Klich Chair of the Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs Poland

Pavel Fischer Chair of the Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Security Czech Republic

Jussi Halla-aho Chair of the Foreign Affairs Commmitte of the Eduskunta Finland

Martin Lidegaard Chair of the Foreign Policy Committee of the Folketinget Denmark