

### CONFERENCE OF PARLIAMENTARIANS OF THE ARCTIC REGION

### THE STANDING COMMITTEE OF PARLIAMENTARIANS OF THE ARCTIC REGION

Dear Foreign Minister

Mr.

The standing committee of arctic parliamentarians held its 14th Conference 13. - 14.april 2021 digitally hosted by Stortinget, the Norwegian parliament.

The Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region is a biennial conference for parliamentarians representing the eight Arctic countries and the European Parliament. The biennial conference is attended by representatives from the national parliaments of the Arctic states and the European Parliament. The Arctic indigenous peoples are permanent participants to the cooperation. Observers participate from governments and interparliamentary organizations as well as from observer states and relevant international organizations.

At the conference the Committee elected MP **Aaja Chemnitz Larsen**, Parliament of the Kingdom of Denmark as Chair of SCPAR.

And US senator Lisa Murkowski as Vice-Chair of SCPAR.

The conference adopted a conference statement, where the main points are:

## Climate change in the Arctic

- Renew and increase their 2015 Paris Agreement commitments
- Forge an ambitious climate action plan for the Arctic
- Strengthen the knowledge base and improve scientific cooperation with a new International Polar Year Initiative.

### **Sustainable Economic Development**

- Increase the accessibility of digital infrastructure in the Arctic
- Strengthen the cooperation with the Arctic Economic Council and ensure the implementation of the Arctic Investment Protocol.

# The Peoples of the Arctic

- Strengthen the cooperation on public health
- Incorporate voices of the youth and strengthen mobility programs such as "northtonorth"
- Strengthen the cooperation and dialogue on security issues and underscore the importance to maintain peace, stability and low tension in the Arctic region.

Conference statement is attached to this letter.

With this letter I would like to inform you about the statement, and I kindly ask you to take the Committee's recommendations into account in your work on Arctic issues.

With best regards

Aaja Chemnitz Larsen Chair of the Standing Commitee