STANDING COMMITTEE ON ACCESS TO INFORMATION, PRIVACY AND ETHICS



COMITÉ PERMANENT DE L'ACCÈS À L'INFORMATION, DE LA PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS ET DE L'ÉTHIOUE

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Potential Participant Folketing, The Danish Parliament

Dear Guest,

The Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics of the House of Commons, Canada will be hosting the second meeting of the "International Grand Committee" in Ottawa, Canada on Tuesday, May 28, 2019. The International Grand Committee is co-chaired by Bob Zimmer, MP and Chair of the Canadian Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics, as well as Damian Collins, MP and Chair of the UK Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee.

Committee members would like to invite a sitting member of Folketing to participate as ex officio member of the committee in order that they may put questions to witnesses and participate in deliberations. The members have expressed an interest in meeting with these representatives to exchange views and shared experiences. The topics of study at the next meeting will be focused on:

- 1. Holding Digital Platforms to Account;
- 2. Foreign Influence in Our Democracies; and
- 3. Data as a Human Right: Protecting Our Citizens Data Security and Privacy.

The inaugural meeting of the "International Grand Committee" was held in London, UK on November 27, 2018. Witnesses included Facebook's Vice President of Policy Solutions Richard Allan, UK Information Commissioner Elizabeth Denham, and Tech Expert and former Chief Technologist of the Federal Trade Commission Ashkan Soltani.

The witnesses confirmed so far for the next meeting include:

Ellen Weintraub, Chair of the United States Federal Election Commission Daniel Therrien, Privacy Commissioner of Canada Jim Balsillie, former CEO/founder of Blackberry Professor Heidi Tworek (academic expert) Jason Kint, CEO Digital Content Next Ben Scott, The Center for Internet and Society Chris Vickery, UpGuard David Carroll, Associate Professor of Media Design, The New School

The Committee is also in conversation with all the major social media platforms (Facebook, Google, Apple, Twitter, etc) about the level of representation that they will be sending to appear at this international committee. We expect to have confirmations of their participation shortly. There will be

other international experts that have been invited but we cannot comment on those until we are able to confirm their participation.

Aside from the host country Canada, representatives that have already confirmed their participation are as follows:

UK: Damian Collins, Chair, Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee, House of Commons; Ian C. Lucas, Member, Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee, House of Commons

Singapore: Pritam Singh, Member, Select Committee on Deliberate Online Falsehoods; Edwin Tong, Member, Select Committee on Deliberate Online Falsehoods; Sun Xueling, Member, Select Committee on Deliberate Online Falsehoods

Latvia: Inese Libina-Egnere, Deputy Speaker

Ireland: Hildegarde Naughton, Chair, Joint Committee on Communications, Climate Action and Environment; Eamon Ryan, member, Joint Committee on Communications, Climate Action and Environment

France: Catherine Morin-Desailly, Chair, Standing Committee on Culture, Education and Media, French Senate

Argentina: Leopoldo Moreau, Chair, Freedom of Expression Commission, Chamber of Deputies

Ukraine: Ms. Syumar Victoria Petrovna, Chairperson of the Verkhovna Rada Committee on Freedom of Speech and Information Policy

Germany: Jens Zimmermann, MP (SPD)

Several other countries have also been invited and are currently finalizing their participation.

I would ask that you please identify possible participants that may be interested to participate and represent the United States of America by replying to this email or contacting me directly at (613) 992-1240. Upon confirmation, I will provide more information regarding the programme.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions. Thank you in advance for your timely response to this request.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Mike MacPherson Clerk of the Committee