

SEIMAS OF THE REPUBLIC OF LITHUANIA COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN AFFAIRS

STATEMENT ON VIOLATION OF HUMAN RIGHTS AND FUNDAMENTAL FREEDOMS OF UKRAINIAN CITIZENS BY THE AUTHORITIES OF THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION

3 February 2017 Vilnius

THROUGH ILLEGAL PERSECUTION AND IMPRISONMENT

The Committee on Foreign Affairs of the Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania,

having regard to the Statement of 29 December 2016 of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine in connection with the repressions against the citizens of Ukraine by the Russian Federation and to the Resolution of 19 December 2016 of the United Nations General Assembly on the situation of human rights in the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol (Ukraine);

stressing that the actions of the authorities of the Russian Federation against the citizens of Ukraine, including politically motivated persecutions, illegal detention and imprisonment, and limiting the right to consular protection, are incompatible with the commitments of the Russian Federation under international law;

invites the government and law enforcement authorities of the Russian Federation to respect the rule of law and human rights, to responsibly fulfil its international commitment in this area, and to immediately stop the politically motivated persecution of Ukrainian citizens;

urges the authorities of the Russian Federation to immediately and unconditionally release all illegally detained Ukrainian citizens and enable their return to their homeland;

appeals to the United Nations Human Rights Council, the national parliaments of the European Union and NATO Member States, the European Parliament, and the Parliamentary Assemblies of NATO, the Council of Europe, and the Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe, urging them to responsibly assess the aforementioned and other human rights violations committed by the authorities of the Russian Federation and to increase pressure on the Russian Federation to ensure its compliance with international legal obligations.

Juozas Bernatonis Chair of the Committee