

The Commissioners:

Kofi Annan

Chairman of the Kofi Annan Foundation and Former Secretary General of the United Nations, Ghana

Louise Arbour

Former High Commissioner for Human Rights, Canada

Pavel Bém

Former Mayor of Prague, Czech Republic

Richard Branson

Entrepreneur, advocate for social causes, founder of the Virgin Group, cofounder of The Elders, United Kingdom

Fernando Henrique Cardoso

Former President of Brazil (chair)

Maria Cattaui

Former Secretary-General of the International Chamber of Commerce, Switzerland

Ruth Dreifuss

Former President of Switzerland and Minister of Home Affairs

Cesar Gaviria

Former President of Colombia

Anand Grover

Former UN Special Rapporteur on the right of everyone to the enjoyment of the highest attainable standard of physical and mental health, India

Asma Jahangir

Human rights activist, former UN Special Rapporteur on Arbitrary, Extrajudicial and Summary Executions, Pakistan

Michel Kazatchkine

UN Secretary-General's Special Envoy on HIV/AIDS in Eastern Europe and Central Asia, former Executive director of the Global Fund to fight AIDS, tuberculosis and malaria, France

Alexander Kwasniewski

Former President of Poland

Ricardo Lagos

Former president of Chile

Olusegun Obasanjo

Former President of Nigeria

George Papandreou

Former Prime Minister of Greece

Jorge Sampaio

Former President of Portugal



George Schultz

Former Secretary of State, United States of America (honorary chair)

Javier Solana

Former European Union High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy, Spain

Thorvald Stoltenberg

Former Minister of Foreign Affairs and UN High Commissioner for Refugees, Norway

Mario Vargas Llosa

Writer and public intellectual, Peru

Paul Volcker

Former Chairman of the US Federal Reserve and of the Economic Recovery Board, United States of America

Ernesto Zedillo

Former President of Mexico