

For democracy, For everyone



+41 22 919 41 11 +41 22 919 41 60 postbox@ipu.org

Chemin du Pommier 5 Case postale 330 1218 Le Grand-Saconnex Geneva – Switzerland www.ipu.org Mr. Hans Christian Schmidt, MP
President of the Danish Inter-Parliamentary Group
c/o Ms. Mette Vestergaard
Secretary of the Danish Inter-Parliamentary Group
International Department (IPU-Sekr)
Folketinget
Christiansborg Slot
DK-1240 COPENHAGEN K
Denmark

Geneva, 21 April 2015

Office of the Secretary General Dear Mr. President,

Your country's latest periodic report on measures taken to give effect to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women was considered during the fifty-ninth session of the United Nations Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (Geneva, 16 February to 6 March 2015).

The Committee has published its concluding observations, a copy of which is enclosed. This document is also available at the following link of the CEDAW website: http://tbinternet.ohchr.org/_layouts/treatybodyexternal/SessionDetails1.aspx?SessionID=901&Lang=en.

As you may know, at its forty-first session, the Committee adopted a series of recommendations encouraging parliaments to be involved in the implementation of its concluding observations and in the preparation of the next reporting process (copy enclosed).

I would like to encourage you to take the necessary steps to make the Committee's concluding observations available to members of your parliament and to hold a debate in Parliament in order to ensure adequate parliamentary follow-up. Over the past years, the IPU has supported several parliaments in organizing such follow-up with the participation of members of the CEDAW Committee. We will be pleased to provide you with such support should you be interested.

I would be grateful if you could inform of any follow-up action you may take. I will certainly keep the Committee and the IPU membership informed of any developments in this regard.

Yours sincerely.

Martin Chungong Secretary General

cc: Ms. Mette Vestergaard, Secretary of the Danish Inter-Parliamentary

Group

Ms. Charlotte Faber, Higher Executive Officer, Assistant Secretary of the Danish Inter-Parliamentary Group

e-mail: mette.vestergaard@ft.dk; charlotte.Faber@ft.dk; claudius.larson@ft.dk