



Ελληνική Προεδρία του Συμβουλίου της Ευρωπαϊκής Ένωσης Hellenic Presidency of the Council of the European Union

Présidence hellénique du Conseil de l'Union européenne

MEETING OF CHAIRPERSONS OF THE COMMITTEES ON JUSTICE AND HOME AFFAIRS 16-17 FEBRUARY 2014 HELLENIC PARLIAMENT ATHENS

DRAFT AGENDA

SUNDAY, 16 February 2014

15.00-17.00	Arrival of the participants, check-in and registration in the hotels
19.15	Departure by bus from the hotels to the Acropolis Museum
19.30	Guided tour to the Acropolis Museum
20.30	Dinner hosted by Mr. Kyriakos Virvidakis, Chair of the Standing Committee on Public Administration, Public Order and Justice at the Acropolis Museum Restaurant
22.30	Return by bus to the hotels

MONDAY, 17 February 2014

Venue: Senate Hall, Hellenic Parliament

08.30 Departure from the hotels to the Hellenic Parliament

Registration in the Hellenic Parliament (for those not registered yet)

09.00 Welcome address by the Speaker of the Hellenic Parliament, Mr. Vangelis

Meimarakis

Introductory remarks by Mr. Kyriakos Virvidakis, Chair of the Standing

Committee on Public Administration, Public Order and Justice

09.15 - 11.00

SESSION I

European Policy on Migration: A Global Approach

Keynote speaker: Ms Cecilia Malmström, Commissioner on Home Affairs

Mr. Nikos Dendias, Minister of Public Order and Citizen Protection, Hellenic Republic

Mr. Ilkka Laitinen, Frontex Executive Director

Debate

11.00 Coffee Break

11.15 - 13.00

SESSION II

Raising Awareness against violent extremism

Mr. Giannis Michelakis, Minister of Interior, Hellenic Republic Ms Maria Åsenius, Head of Cabinet of the Commissioner on Home Affairs

Debate

13.00 Family Photo

13.15 Lunch

15.00 - 16.45

SESSION III

Overview of the Stockholm Programme and the way ahead

Mr. Charalambos Athanassiou, Minister of Justice, Transparency and Human Rights, Hellenic Republic

Vice-Chair of the European Parliament Committee of Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs

Ms Françoise Le Bail, Director-General for DG Justice, European Commission (TBC)

Debate

16.45 Concluding Remarks by Mr. Kyriakos Virvidakis, Chair of the Standing Committee on Public Administration, Public Order and Justice

17.00 Departure of the participants