

-Draft Programme- (as of 16 March 2009)



Parliamentary Conference "Current Challenges for European Security"

Prague, 6 April 2009 the Žofin Palace

Sunday, 5 April 2009

Arrival of delegations

Registration of participants at the hotels

afternoon Guided tour of the Prague Castle

19.30 Departure by bus to St. Agnes Convent

20.00 Official Dinner hosted by Mr. Lubomír Zaorálek, Vice Chairman of the Chamber

of Deputies of the Parliament of the Czech Republic St. Agnes Convent, U Milosrdných 17, Prague 1

Return to the hotels

Monday, 6 April 2009

8.00	Departure by bus to Zofin Palace

8.30 Registration of participants at the Žofin Palace

9.00 Welcome address:

Mr. Lubomír Zaorálek, Vice Chairman of the Chamber of Deputies of the

Parliament of the Czech Republic

Opening speech:

Mr. Mirek Topolánek, Prime Minister of the Czech Republic

9.30 MORNING SESSION: SECURITY THREATS AND THEIR IMPLICATIONS FOR CITIZENS

Co-chairs:

Ms. Zuzka Bebarová-Rujbrová, Chairwoman of the Committee on Petitions of the Chamber of Deputies

Mr. František Bublan, Chairman of the Committee on Security of the Chamber of Deputies

Intervention by:

Representative of the European Commission (tbc)

Mr. Ivan Langer, Minister of Interior of the Czech Republic (tbc)

Mr. Jiří Dienstbier, Chairman of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Security of the Senate of the Parliament of the Czech Republic

Mr. Václav Bartuška, Ambasador-at-large of the Czech Republic for energy security (

Ms. Lucie Sládková, International Organization on Migration

Debate

13.00 Lunch

14.30 AFTERNOON SESSION: THE ECONOMIC CRISIS AS A THREAT TO EUROPEAN SECURITY

Co-chairs:

Mr. Oldřich Vojíř, Chairman of the Committee on Economic Affairs of The Chamber of Deputies

Mr. Libor Ambrozek, Chairman of the Committee on Environment of the Chamber of Deputies

Intervention by:

Representative of the European Commission (tbc)

Mr. Ivo Bárek, Chairman of the Committee on Public Administration, Regional Development and the Environment

Mr. Thomas Mirow, President of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (tbc)

Mr. Karel Dyba, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of the Czech Republic to the OECD

Mr. Jan Pretel, Head of the Department of Climate Change, Czech Hydrometeorological Institute

Debate

18.00 Conclusions of the conference:

Mr. Zuzka Bebarová-Rujbrová, Chairwoman of the Committee on Petitions of the Chamber of Deputies

Mr. František Bublan, Chairman of the Committee on Security of the Chamber of Deputies

Mr. Oldřich Vojíř, Chairman of the Committee on Economic Affairs of The Chamber of Deputies

Mr. Libor Ambrozek, Chairman of the Committee on Environment of the Chamber of Deputies

Closing speech:

Mr. Lubomír Zaorálek, Vice Chairman of the Chamber of Deputies of the Parliament of the Czech Republic