**Council of Europe Press Division** 

Phone: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60, Fax: +33 (0)3 88 41 39 11 E-mail: pressunit@coe.int, Internet: www.coe.int

# E-mail

Pressemeddelelse til redaktionen Dato: 21. marts 2006. Antal sider (inkl. denne): 3

# Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly to observe Ukraine elections

Strasbourg, 21.03.2006 – A thirty-seven-member, cross-party delegation from the Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly (PACE), headed by Renate Wohlwend (Liechtenstein, EPP/CD), will observe the 26 March parliamentary elections in Ukraine.

The delegation, which will work alongside observers from the OSCE and NATO Parliamentary Assemblies and the European Parliament, will arrive in Kyiv on 23 March. They are due to meet party representatives, election officials and representatives of civil society and the media as well as observing polling on the day of the vote

The delegation will be accompanied by a member of the Venice Commission, the Council of Europe's group of independent legal experts, which has adopted opinions on Ukraine's laws on <u>elections of people's</u> <u>deputies</u> and the <u>State register of voters</u>.

A delegation from the Council of Europe's Congress of Local and Regional Authorities will be observing the local and regional elections, which take place on the same day as the parliamentary elections.

A four-member PACE pre-election delegation which visited the country from 28 February to 2 March 2006 welcomed in a <u>statement</u> the "vastly improved atmosphere" in which the electoral campaign was taking place, but said some areas of concern remained.

The delegation is composed as follows:

### Socialist Group (SOC)

Abdülkadir ATEŞ Turkey

Jaime BLANCO Spain

Anna ČURDOVÁ Czech Republic

Andreas GROSS Switzerland

Jean-Pol HENRY Belgium

Sinikka HURSKAINEN Finland

Tadeusz IWIŃSKI Poland

Tony LLOYD United Kingdom

Rainder STEENBLOCK Germany

Frans TIMMERMANS Netherlands

Biruté VĖSAITĖ Lithuania

#### Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CD)

Pedro AGRAMUNT Spain

Jean-Guy BRANGER France

Erol Aslan CEBECI Turkey

Åse Gunhild Woie DUESUND Norway

Urszula GACEK Poland

Andres HERKEL Estonia

Oskars KASTĒNS Latvia

Ibrahim ÖZAL Turkey

Kimmo SASI Finland

Renate WOHLWEND\* Liechtenstein

## Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)

Gurgen ARSENYAN Armenia

Stef GORIS Belgium

Mike HANCOCK United Kingdom

Johannes RANDEGGER Switzerland

François ROCHEBLOINE France

Hanne SEVERINSEN\* Denmark

Gabor SZALAY Hungary

Jelleke VEENENDAAL Netherlands

## **European Democrat Group (EDG)**

Toomas ALATALU Estonia

Mevlüt ÇAVUŞOĞLU\* Turkey

Nigel EVANS United Kingdom

Morten MESSERSCHMIDT Denmark

Ganira PASHAYEVA Azerbaijan

Yuri SOLONIN Russia

Emanuelis ZINGERIS Lithuania

# Group of the Unified European Left (UEL)

Doros CHRISTOUDOULIDES\* Cyprus

**Venice Commission** 

Angel SANCHEZ NAVARRO, Expert Spain

<sup>\*</sup> These members were part of the pre-election delegation.

# **Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit**

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 31 93

Fax: +33 (0)3 90 21 41 34

pace.com@coe.int

www.coe.int/press

## Contact:

Angus Macdonald, PACE Communication Unit,

mobile + 33 (0)6 30 49 68 20, Strasbourg +33 (0)3 88 41 34 39.